As a result of shrinking budgets, Washington Governor Chris Gregoire signed into law that will require everyone, starting July 1, 2011, to Birch Bay State Park to purchase and display a Discover Pass on their vehicle. The cost for the Discover Pass is $30 for the year or $10 for the day. In addition to Birch Bay State Park, this Pass will provide access to all Washington state-managed recreation lands – including campgrounds, parks, wildlife areas, trails, natural areas, wilderness areas and water access points.
The fine for not displaying the pass is $99.
The Discover Pass may be purchased:
- Online (http://discoverpass.wa.gov/)
- In person from any of nearly 600 recreational license vendors where state fishing and hunting licenses are sold.
- By phone. Call toll-free (866) 320-9933.
- When you renew your vehicle license. Beginning in the fall of 2011, you will be able to purchase the Discover Pass through the state Department of Licensing vehicle registration and tab renewal process.